April 19, 2018
Our Data Policy explains how we collect, use, and share your data, and it covers all the Facebook Products, including Instagram. It also identifies where you can go to get more information and to find tools and controls for managing your data. This is not meant to replace our Data Policy, and we don't address everything here. Read the full Data Policy.
We collect information about you and your activity, on and off Facebook and Instagram. There's lots of information in our Data Policy about the kinds of information we collect, with some examples and links to where you can learn more. But here are some of the categories of things we receive: the content you provide when you post, like or comment, your connections, your transactions, and your usage of our products. We also collect information that other people provide about you, like when they tag you in a photo. We also collect information from your device, such as identifiers, cookies, and information you can control using your device settings, including your camera, microphone and different kinds of location information, along with information from our partners, like websites you visit, apps you use or purchases you make.
Data allows us to provide a personalized experience to different people, and to learn new things and improve our service. There's lots of information in our Data Policy about the ways we use the information we have, with some examples and links to where you can learn more. But here are some of the ways we use data:
A great first step to controlling your online data is to understand what you’ve shared. We offer tools to review the information we have for your account and the data you’ve shared on Instagram. You’ll see information we have about you, as well as your content, like your posts, comments, and messages. Learn how to use these tools in our Help Center.
Sometimes people change their minds about things they’ve shared online. To delete a photo or video that you've posted, tap above your post and then tap Delete. You can also archive posts to hide them from your profile and make it so your followers and other people on Instagram can't see it. But don’t worry—when you archive a post, it keeps all its likes and comments.
You can also temporarily disable or delete your account at any time. When you delete your account, we delete your posts, and you won't be able to recover that information later. Learn more.
Anything that others have shared about you isn't part of your account and won't be deleted if you delete your account. But, if you are concerned about a picture or information someone else has posted about you, you can report it to us. See how “To report a post,” above.